Safari on Windows

Tuesday, 12 June 2007 at 18:21 7 comments

Apple has released it’s priority browser, Safari, for Windows.

Apple report on their website that Safari is over 2x faster than IE7 and 50% faster than FF2. BUT it is only a beta, and Carol (of Carol’s Vault) has reported it is quite buggy. I have used Macs before and Safari, to me, is *just* another browser. Maybe it is faster, but i will not be switching from FF2 and losing all the features i use everyday for a *reported* extra 50% speed.

In other news, YouTube are to test Video ID software to combat copyright infringement, and Google are branching into University e-mail accounts.

Source: BBC News

Entry filed under: In the News, Technology.

Red Heat has given Arnie a Raw Deal What do you get if you cross Alex Turner, Lily Allen, Dizzy Rascal and some guy from the Klaxons?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Wicked Beggar  |  Wednesday, 13 June 2007 at 16:34

    Hehe I’m using Safar on XP to post this comment right now. πŸ˜› It’s quite nice, and for me only buggy with window size problems. But I’m still sticking to Firefox as my primary browser. I wouldn’t be able to live without the Firebug plugin! Plus… Firefox I’ve grown to Firefox! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 2. Harry  |  Tuesday, 19 June 2007 at 12:08

    I had a chat with the dev team on the Opera irc, and those speed stats are not PC based. I am sure that Safari is the fastest browser, as many of the core components are embedded into the OS. Those figures WILL NOT be the same on an actual PC.

    Reply
  • 3. Harry  |  Tuesday, 19 June 2007 at 12:11

    I forgot to mention that in the Windows version, there is no plug-in support (as far as I am aware). That in theory means you will have to live without flash and java, so who exactly is this browser aimed at? The mac adverts claim that macs are more fun, and yet, how much fun can HTML be?

    Reply
  • 4. James @ It's A Free World, Baby  |  Tuesday, 19 June 2007 at 12:37

    Yeh the website small print says it was tested on a dual-boot iMac.

    Flash appears to work (on YouTube, at least).

    Thanks for your points.

    Reply
  • 5. Harry  |  Monday, 25 June 2007 at 8:33

    Apparently, its not been released as a full blown browser, but as a testing environment for iPhone apps, as it is now the only way of writing 3rd party apps.

    Reply
  • 6. The Wicked Beggar  |  Friday, 6 July 2007 at 12:27

    Flash does work in the PC version of Safari. And so does javascript. Next time test it out for yourself Harry instead of speculating. πŸ˜‰ But yeah I’m sticking to Firefox, even if (when) I do get a Mac. πŸ˜›

    Reply
  • 7. Harry  |  Thursday, 19 July 2007 at 15:47

    I already have three browsers on my PC already how many more do I need Julian? And I got my info from VNUNET. You’ve probably used an updated version

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Most Recently Updated Posts

New Kaiser Cheifs album is ready *UPDATED* - Last Updated 31st May 2007 @ 2102

…Pre-installed with Linux *UPDATED* - Last Updated 2nd May 2007 @ 0351

Is this goodbye from Oasis? *UPDATED* - Last Updated 13th April 2007 @ 1850

Blog conceived 6th May 2006

  • 53,803 hits since.

Banners and Buttons

mp3 blogs

Firefox 2

Major Geeks


