Stop the Clocks: It’s Oasis’ Greatest Hits *UPDATED*

Wednesday, 26 July 2006 at 22:29 7 comments


Oasis will finally be releasing a ‘greatest hits’ package, titled ‘Stop the Clock’s‘, on 20th November 2006. Personally i wouldn’t call it a ‘greatest hits’ package, and i don’t think even Oasis do. Instead it is a tracklisting chosen by the band to reflect their proudest works of art, not the record labels best money-makers. It is similar to R.E.M.s In Time best-of, which was missing one of their highest chart entries, ‘Shiny Happy People‘. Best Of? Probably. Definitive Collection? Maybe. Greatest Hits? I don’t think so.

A post on the bands website is here.

*UPDATE* The tracklisting for the forthcoming collection is below, courtesy of

1. ‘Some Might Say’
2. ‘Don’t Look Back In Anger’
3. ‘D’You Know What I Mean?’
4. ‘All Around The World’
5. ‘Go Let It Out’
6. ‘The Hindu Times’
7. ‘Lyla’
8. ‘The Importance Of Being Idle’
9. ‘Masterplan’
10. ‘Half The World Away’
11. ‘Acquiesce’
12. ‘Champagne Supernova’
13. ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Star’
14. ‘Supersonic’
15. ‘Wonderwall’
16. ‘Whatever’
17. ‘Boy With The Blues’
18. ‘Stop The Clocks’

*UPDATE* In The Scum Sun today it has been rumoured that Oasis are to re-record the fan-proclaimed ‘best b-side ever’, Acquiesce, and release it as a single to support the new cd. It also says that Oasis are recording a video even sooner in Japan and London. DigitalSpy Story here.

*UPDATE* The Sun have given what they say is the final tracklisting for the cd:

1. Rock ‘N’ Roll Star
2. Some Might Say
3. Talk Tonight
4. Lyla
5. The Importance Of Being Idle
6. Wonderwall
7. Slide Away
8. Cigarettes and Alcohol
9. The Masterplan
10. Live Forever
11. Acquiesce
12. Supersonic
13. Half The World Away
14. Go Let It Out
15. Songbird
16. Morning Glory
17. Champagne Supernova
18. Don’t Look Back In Anger

Right… Almost there guys. I still wouldn’t be happy with this tracklisting. Are they really dropping ‘Whatever’? And one of my favourites, ‘D’You Know What I Mean?’? Still no ‘Stand By Me’? What the fuck is ‘Songbird’ doing in there? And, not that Liam and Noel care because they are against this whole project anyway, but do they really expect longtime fans to even contemplate buying this with no new material? Room for improvement, boys.

*UPDATE* Oh my god, what a fucking disappointment. I went and bought this today only to find that Acquiesce is the fucking original i already have. Fucking scam, bunch of bollocks.

For more posts on Oasis, use the yellow search box in the top right hand corner.


Entry filed under: Entertainment, Music.

A new R.E.M. CD… And I Feel Fine Be Alarmed by ZoneAlarm: See Update

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jojo  |  Tuesday, 15 August 2006 at 23:22

    Of course, picking the songs for an Oasis compilation was always going to be a bitch, so bye bye Live Forever, Songbird, Stand By Me, Cigarettes & Alcohol, etc… Good idea to include Whatever and some b-sides and can’t wait to hear the new ones!

  • 2. Liam  |  Saturday, 9 September 2006 at 2:29

    How can they leave out stand by me, and live forever! they are 2 of the 3 best Oasis songs of all time. Also didn’t Oasis say that they would never do a greatest hits album until they retired? And that it would be their last ever album? I ruddy hope not!!

  • 3. Toby Summers  |  Friday, 6 October 2006 at 9:13

    They are releasing this album to get out of their contract with Sony. That is the sole reason for it. The tracklisting will be debated forever, but then if you’re a big fan you have ALL the released recordings anyway, so what’s it matter?

  • 4. michael  |  Friday, 10 November 2006 at 18:49

    This CD is just the last nail in the Oasis coffin. I have been an Oasis for 10 years now, and i have had to stand by and watch my fav. band piss away every chance they have had to be the Greatest band to ever walk the face of the earth. Now the two brothers can’t even have the balls to pick there best songs. Song Bird give me a break. If you want to put songs like that on your greatest hits then make a double album. You let me down boys, get real get over yourselfs your band is over and you caused it. The least you can do is leave us loyle fans the good songs and the good memories that went with it.

  • 5. Marina  |  Tuesday, 21 November 2006 at 12:39

    What about “D’you know what I mean?”, “Stand by me”, “All around the world”, “Whatever” and so on???
    This greatest hits it’s just rubbish

  • 6.  |  Saturday, 16 December 2006 at 11:35

    You are kind enough to mention Digital Spy but you are referencign the ,com domain and actually it is (the .com is held by cyber squatters).

  • 7. Giancarlo  |  Wednesday, 28 March 2007 at 23:40

    Oasis is the greatest band EVER!!! but they left “let there be love”, “stop crying your heart out”, and some more songs. BUT THEY RULES!! Jhon Cena Sux!!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Recent Posts

Most Recently Updated Posts

New Kaiser Cheifs album is ready *UPDATED* - Last Updated 31st May 2007 @ 2102

…Pre-installed with Linux *UPDATED* - Last Updated 2nd May 2007 @ 0351

Is this goodbye from Oasis? *UPDATED* - Last Updated 13th April 2007 @ 1850

Blog conceived 6th May 2006

  • 53,862 hits since.

Banners and Buttons

mp3 blogs

Firefox 2

Major Geeks

%d bloggers like this: